So Far So Great!

Day 1

Goal: Eat two servings of leafy green vegetables today and every day for six weeks.

Check!

It feels good to have easily completed this goal today.  I have to say I was worried this morning when I sat down to plan out my meals for the week.  My week of menus looks VERY green!  I’ll be having salads, sandwiches, smoothies, quesadillas and appetizers made mostly of spinach, broccoli or kale.  As of this morning I wasn’t even sure if I liked kale.

After enjoying emmycooks wonderful Kale salad (see comment on My First Post) for dinner tonight, I can now say I really like kale!  I encourage you to check out Emmy’s blog.  I’ll be exploring it more myself in search of delicious recipes

Besides the Kale salad we also had a Lemony chicken and broccoli dish over brown rice.  I feel healthier already!

I found a list of leafy green vegetables on WebMD.  They are ranked in order of nutritional value.

1.  Kale

2.  Collards

3.  Turnip Greens

4.  Swiss Chard

5.  Spinach

6.  Mustard Greens

7.  Broccoli

8.  Red and Green Leaf and Romaine Lettuce

9.  Cabbage

10. Iceberg Lettuce

I’m hesitant to eat collards, turnip greens and mustard greens.  I remember then from my childhood being bitter-tasting.  Please correct me if I’m wrong.  Send me your best recipe.  I’ll keep an open mind.

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brenda
    May 20, 2012 @ 13:22:08

    All I can tell you is I feel like I cheat by putting my 2 servings of kale in a shake every morning with lots of fruit, it’s delicious!

    Reply

  2. joan
    May 24, 2012 @ 14:57:34

    Ahhhhhh – kale. Love that kale. It grows in my backyard. Kale and onions fried in a little olive oil – yummy! Add a little chicken and you’ve got a meal. Kale chips (Toss leaves with a little olive oil and bake until crisp) – super easy! Italian Wedding Soup with kale – the best soup ever! Enjoy those green leafies; they rock.

    Reply

  3. Patty
    May 26, 2012 @ 13:44:28

    I have only, ever, eaten 7 – 10. Sad! But I’m picky!

    Reply

Leave a comment